Arrabona EGTC

2019. August 29.

Dunaszerdahely is located in the heart of the Csallóköz, this is the district’s main cultural, administrative and business center. The name of the town evokes the name of the duly famous DAC soccer team and the municipality itself offers visitors a wide variety of sights to see. Take a walk downtown and get acquainted with the dynamically growing town with a population of over 22000. And, of course, support the team!

Tour planning

Az alábbi megállókat ajánjuk nektek:

Károly Pleyer, the hotelier owner of the several story building previously functioning as a cafe and hotel, sold it to city leadership 1901. It was reconstructed several times throughout the decades. The most notable of these was in 1995 when the city facade was renovated according to Imre Makovecz and a tower was added above the entrance.

The reconstructed 'new' City Hall soon became a symbol of the town and defining elements of the Dunaszerdahely cityscape. Not only is the renovated city hall his work, but Fő Street and the church square in Dunaszerdahely bear the influence of the architect Imre Makovecz. A memorial plaque next to the entrance of City Hall was set in place to pay respect to the town's honorary citizen. A memorial honoring the victims of the communist dictatorship was completed on October 31, 2006, for the 50th anniversary of the Revolution of 1956. It is the work of sculptor János Nagy.

Forrás és további információ:

The city’s oldest example of historical and religious architecture. There was already a wooden church standing in its place during the Árpád Era and, according to tradition, the stone church we see today dates back to 1329. The building underwent larger transformations in 1518 (a side aisle was added) and 1742-43 when it was renovated in Baroque style.

The stone church standing here today was, according to tradition, built in 1329. It underwent larger renovations in 1518 (it was expanded with a side aisle) and in 1742-43 when it was renewed in Baroque style. The whole building was renovated including its walls and towers and the church gained its present-day form. The main altar depicts the Assumption of Mary and above it, the statue of the church's patron, Saint George on a horse. On its side altar, we can see Saint Stephen and a painful depiction of the Pieta. The Kondé family of Pókatelek was buried in the crypts of the church.

Forrás és további információ:

In October of 1991, a memorial was dedicated in Dunaszerdahely to honor the Jewish community that had once lived here. The memorial depicts a torso in the sheet of stone breaking the tables of the Ten Commandments and burning them, underneath, we can see the footprints of the victims.

On June 15, 1944, 3000 Jewish citizens were deported to death camps from the ghetto that had been established where the Fő Street synagogue once stood and the Bacsák Street and Csillag Street area. On the darkest day in Dunaszerdahely's history, the town lost half of its population: after the war, only around 600 people returned from the camps. To honor the memory of the former Jewish community in Dunaszerdahely, the Memento Holocaust Memorial was built and dedicated. It is a stone table torso with the Ten Commandments being torn apart and burning. Underneath we can see the footprints of the victims. The memorial stands where the once famous Orthodox synagogue once stood.

Forrás és további információ:

Where the main square is today, there was once a lake surrounded by thatch-roofed houses. The lake was gradually filled up and the area fell into disrepair until at the end of the 1930s a new park was established in the area where the Martyrs' Memorial and the Saint Stephen Memorial can be seen today.

A row of thatch-roofed houses on a lake stood once where the square is today. In the 1890a Dr. Náthán Zipszer, an attorney from Dunaszerdahely and a speaker for the governing party wanted to engage in campaign activity at the fair, however, his oration was not well-received and he was chased away. The attorney fled to the lake that was once at the end of the fairground. After this fabled run, the lake was given the name Zipszer Lake. Later, the body of water was gradually filled up and this area of the town fell into disrepair until at the end of the 1930s a new park called Gloserpark was established here by the people of Szerdahely. After the Second World War, it was named Május 1. (May 1st) Square and since 1989, it is called Szent István Square. The Martyrs' Memorial, erected in 1971 in the place of the Ereklyés (Relic) National Flag can be seen on the square. The group of statues made from welded sheets of red copper depicts human bones and bears testament to the horrors of war. The memorial was expanded in 1989 with three granite tombstones on either side with names and dates of birth of the Hungarian soldier who had fallen in the war. The Saint Stephen Memorial dedicated in 2004 also stands on the square. The public statue made from an alloy of marble, bronze, and sandstone depicting a Hungarian soldier is the work of György Lipcsey.

Forrás és további információ:

The originally Baroque style castle was converted to classicist style in the 1800s. Today, this two-story structure is considered to be among Dunajská Streda's monument buildings. In the small park around it, we will find a wooden statue of György Lipcsei. The building houses the Csallóköz Museum. The permanent exhibition comprises 17 thematic units providing a comprehensive and faithful representation of the lives of the people living here. The ground floor houses archeological artifacts and fossils, the first floor features ethnographic and historical materials.

Commissioned by the Bishop of Veszprém, Márton Bíró Padányi, the spacious mansion with several floors planned for his brother István Bíró was finished in Pólkatelek in 1753. This was later to be known as the Sárga kastély (Yellow Castle) and expansive lands belonged to it. Later the Kondé family of Pókatelek gained ownership of it and had it renovated according to their own taste at the beginning of the 19th century (This was when the Kondé coat of arms was added to the facade and the huge stone turkey statue above it.)

Forrás és további információ:

A javasolt megközelítés nem feltétlenül veszi figyelembe az aktuális forgalmirend változásokat.


Difficulty: Easy
Distance: 2 km
Duration: 00:13:27
Ascent: 18 m
Descent: 5 m
Refreshing point: Nincs
Level difference: 5m
Created: 2019.10.04
Number of appearance: 4665
Number of viewing: 2354
Győr Időjárás

Similar tours

A walk in Somorja (Šamorín)


There is a small town by the Danube that got its name from a medieval church dedicated to the Virgin Mary. This is a picturesque little town was once the center of commerce in the Csallóköz, today it is a cultural and tourism destination, as apart from having a wide variety of sights to see, the town also boasts musical events such as Samaria Régi Zenei Napok (Old Samaria Music Days) or New Musik At Home. Visit Somorja and enjoy a music festival but don’t forget to have a good look around town as well.

Walk in Veľký Meder (Nagymegyer)

Nowadays, the town of Veľký Meder is mainly known for its thermal waters; its spa and thermal park is a popular resort among both foreign and local tourists. The town has a rich history; the most famous story is perhaps the legend of Matthias Corvin, which is intertwined with the history of the town. 

Dating expert I. - A date walk around Gyõr

Don’t know were to take the guy or girl you have your eye on for your first date? Take a romantic walk through Győr. Here we have 5 perfect places to have a wonderful time whether it is your first date or you have been seeing each other for a while. Either way, this tour provides you with the opportunity to spend quality time together.

Nearby events